Call for nominations for the Richard-von-Mises Prize of the International Association of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics (GAMM) 2018

Since 1989, the Richard-von-Mises Prize is awarded every year by GAMM to a scientist for exceptional scientific achievements in the field of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics.

Traditionally, GAMM will present the prize during the opening ceremony of the GAMM Annual Meeting and the prize winner will present his research in a plenary talk.

The aim of the prize is to reward and encourage young scientists whose research represents a major advancement in the field of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics.

The winner should not be older than 36 years except if he or she has a broken career.

Nominations can be made by university professors or academic persons in similar positions. Self nomination is accepted.

Nominations should contain a justification letter by the nominating persons and the following material concerning the nominee:

  • curriculum vitae,
  • list of publications,
  • copies of the most important articles (at most 4).

Nominations should be sent to the president of GAMM, Prof. Dr. Heike Faßbender, preferably in electronic form.

The deadline for nomination is 30. September 2017.

Prof. Dr. Heike Faßbender
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Institut Computational Mathematics, AG Numerik
38092 Braunschweig

Telefon: +49-531-391-7535
Telefax: +49-531-391-8206